14.—Lieutenant-Governors of Nova Scotia, 1867-1948, Legislatures and Premiers, 1934-48, and Present Ministry as at June 30, 1948

Nore.—See headnote to Table 13, p. 104.

Lieutenant-Governors

Name	Date of Commission		Name	Date of Commission
LtGen. Sir William F. Williams. Major-Gen. Sir C. Hastings Doyle LtGen. Sir C. Hastings Doyle Joseph Howe Sir Adams G. Archibald Matthew Henry Richey A. W. McLelan Sir Malachy Bowes Daly Sir Malachy Bowes Daly Alfred G. Jones Duncan C. Fraser James D. McGregor	Jan. May July July July July July July Mar.	1, 1867 18, 1867 31, 1868 1, 1873 4, 1873 4, 1883 9, 1888 11, 1890 29, 1895 26, 1900 27, 1906 18, 1910	J. Robson Douglas James C. Tory Frank Stanfield Walter H. Covert Robert Irwin Frederick F. Mathers, K.C LtCol. H. Ernest Kendall, M.D.	Nov. 29, 1916 Mar. 21, 1922 Jan. 12, 1925 Sept. 14, 1925 Nov. 19, 1930 Oct. 5, 1931 Apr. 7, 1937 May 31, 1940

¹ Second term.

Legislatures, 1934-481

Date of	Legislature	Number of	Date of	Date of
Election		Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Aug. 22, 1933 June 29, 1937 Oct. 28, 1941 Oct. 23, 1945	17th General Assembly18th General Assembly19th General Assembly20th General Assembly	4 4	Mar. 1, 1934 Mar. 1, 1938 Feb. 19, 1942 Mar. 14, 1946	Sept. 19, 1941 Sept. 12, 1945

¹ The Ministries from 1934-48 were: 12th Ministry, sworn in Sept. 5, 1933, under the leadership of Hon. Angus L. Macdonald; 13th Ministry, sworn in July 10, 1940, under the leadership of Hon. A. S. MacMillan; 14th Ministry, sworn in Sept. 8, 1945, under the leadership of Hon. Angus L. Macdonald, P.C., K.C. ² Life of Legislature not yet expired.

Fourteenth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, Oct. 23, 1945: 28 Liberals and 2 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation.)

NOTE.—Ministers who have held office continuously are shown as at the date of original appointment, despite the formation of a new Ministry consequent upon the appointment of a new Premier.

Office	Name	Date of Appointment	
Premier, President of Council and Provincial Treasurer	Hon. ANGUS L. MACDONALD, P.C., K.C. Hon. L. D. CURRIE, K.C Hon. FRANK R. DAVIS, M.D., C.M Hon. MALCOLM A. PATTERSON Hon. A. W. MACKENZIE Hon. HAROLD CONNOLLY Hon. MERRILL D. RAWDING Hon. J. WILLIE COMEAU Hon. GEOFFREY STEVENS	Sept. 8, 1945 Feb. 6, 1939 Sept. 5, 1933 June 10, 1947 Sept. 8, 1945 Feb. 24, 1941 July 31, 1947 Sept. 5, 1933 Apr. 4, 1946	

Subsection 3.—New Brunswick

The Province of New Brunswick in all essential features of provincial administration is similar to its neighbour, Nova Scotia. The Legislative Assembly at present has 52 members who are elected for a term of five years. The Executive Council is composed of: the Premier and Attorney General, the Provincial Secretary-Treasurer and President of the Executive Council, the Minister of Public Works,